Nutritional Perspective

I love food and I love the way healthy choices can energize and nourish my body. I follow a vegetarian diet (pescetarian to be exact). I have been eating this way for a while now and enjoy this choice for my life. (I am not a dietician or fitness expert and just want to share my life choices.)

Here are my favorite health foods:

  1. Eggs and egg whites
  2. Whole grain breads and english muffins
  3. Sweet Potatoes
  4. Spinach
  5. All vegetables!
  6. Apples
  7. All fruit!
  8. Almond butter
  9. Almond milk
  10. Tempeh
  11. Black beans
  12. Chia seeds
  13. Oatmeal!!
  14. Kashi Go Lean cereals
  15. Greek yogurt

Here are some of my favorite foods in moderation of course ;):

  1. Dark chocolate
  2. Frozen yogurt
  3. Any kind of cookie!
  4. Candy too

I do not have a bodytype where I can eat freely and expect not to gain weight. I try not to obsess over everything I put in my mouth, but I have developed strategies that work for me to stay balanced in my eating.

  • Don’t be afraid to ask for a change at restaurants. (Dry toast, salad instead of fries, dressing on the side, etc).
  • Consider your splurges and plan ahead. If you know you are going to a birthday party and will want to enjoy a slice of cake, then have a lighter lunch and no other sweets.
  • Know your problem areas. I can’t be controlled around nut butters, I love em! So I try different strategies like allowing myself one serving a day or buying lower fat versions (Better N’ Peanut Butter).
  • If I feel myself getting out of control with portions or snacks I will use a type of food journal to get back on track. I like Lose It app on my iphone. It is easy and quick for me to use when I’m teaching.
  • Plan ahead! I try to cut up my fruits and veggies right away after getting home from the grocery store. I also like to prep my lunches for school the night before. I need to make it a habit this upcoming year too!
  • I try not to deprive myself of anything or I will want it that much more. If someone around me is having icecream at night and I can’t stop thinking about it I might have a small portion. The other day I added one spoonful or icecream to a vanilla greek yogurt and that did the trick!

What are your favorite healthy eating tricks?

Do you have favorite healthy foods? How about splurges?

Leave a Reply

