Not your typical shoe obsession

Source: Amazon.com

Aren’t they beautiful? These are the Mizuno Wave Inspire 7. I have been wearing them now for 4 years. We are a match made in heaven and I have no reason to try any other shoe. I also love that they have multiple color options for each version of the shoe so I never get bored. I haven’t had a repeat color yet! 😉

I have learned a few things over the years about my shoes.

Repeated wear for other activities will decrease the support while running.  I used a pair for doing the Insanity workout dvds and that was a mistake. Keep a pair of cross-trainers for other activities, especially if they involve a different range of motion than running.

Don’t run through the mud, wash your shoes, and expect them to still feel the same on your foot. Mud runs, trail runs in the rain, and trekking through farms are not great ideas. Any one have a good way to clean their shoes after the Color Run?

Rotate a few pairs at a time. It is a smart idea to switch up your shoes so that they have a chance to dry after a sweaty run and retain their support. Keep a few pairs going so that you don’t have to wear a pair all the way out and then start breaking a new pair in after.

Try to keep track of your miles on each pair. The purpose of this is to know when its time to introduce another pair into the rotation. I am really bad at guesstimating the miles on my shoes. I have no clue when I even purchased them. The point is that shoes should only be worn 300-500 some miles before they will lose their support. I think that you can feel when a pair of shoes is no longer giving you the support you need. It feels similar to a bad run so make sure that isn’t the case 😉 The decrease in support might make you feel lower to the ground, sluggish, or cause unusual muscle soreness.

Get fitted at a running store. The experts will know how to help you find the shoe that is right for you by observing the way you run. A lot of stores and expos have technology that connects with a treadmill to determine how your foot strikes the ground. I think it is important to get fitted and then you can buy the next pair online for a better deal if you feel they are too expensive. Supporting local business is important too though!

*Add bright-colored laces if you don’t like the look of a shoe that is a good match for you 🙂

What shoe do you like to run in?

Do you stick with the same shoe every time, or are you more promiscuous about shoes? 😉

5 responses to “Not your typical shoe obsession

  1. Laura…..just bought 2 more pairs of my extinct shoe!!! Saucony Guide 3!!!!!! I have been wearing them for 3 years….I have had them just about as long as I have had my running buds!! Saucony, still makes them, however they are onto the Guide 9, I think, with changes/improvements to the shoe. MONOGAMY FOREVER!!

  2. The dedication you have to your saucony shoe is beautiful 🙂 I just bought a new pair of mine too! Let’s go crazy and put a ton of miles on them! Hey maybe we should run a marathon 😉

  3. I’ve been using the Asics Gel 1160s. I bought a pair, used them for a long time (probably too long), and then bought another pair off Amazon because I love them too much, haha. I still have my old pair and used those for weights or cross training.

    • That’s awesome that you found a pair you love! I like to use my old sneakers for cross training too, or messy races 😉

      • Good call with the messy races! I ran a Turkey Trot in my area, and the finish line is on a trail. It had rained the night before, so it was a MESS once I finished. My shoes got all muddy and gross. I’ll have to keep that in mind for this year =)

Leave a Reply

