Feel good Friday

Rest Day (again)

Happy Weekend! I have been working on a few projects and fun things today. And this is day 2 of resting because I have a lot of running planned for the weekend. I am running a local 5k Saturday morning and 10 miles Sunday morning. I am looking for a PR tomorrow, since I don’t really have a 5k time. It seems that I’m always doing 5k fun runs in some costume or another and don’t keep track of the time. I’m ready to fly through the course tomorrow though!

For breakfast I made french toast, but I wanted to talk about oats in a jar! This is old news in health blogging, but I thought others might not know about this fun oatmeal idea. You take an almost empty nut butter jar, cook your oats, and then pour them in the jar. It gets every last scrape out and tastes so good!

Also, I had a beautiful moment while visiting the corn man today. Everyone in town calls this local farmer with a stand “The Corn Man”. I bought so many amazing vegetables and made a huge salad and my life was complete 🙂

Lettuce, cucumber, tomato, celery, green pepper, and quinoa.

Next, I roasted some beets that I picked up! I really like beets but have never cooked them myself. All that you do is trim the beets (the lettuce part can be eaten also), roast at 350 degrees for 1-2 hours with a little bit of olive oil. Then, once they cool you have to peel the skin off. Yum! Slice and put in salads, or dress them up whole. I kept thinking of Dwight from the office…

“You cannot buy farmers at a farmer’s market. It’s super-confusing.”-Dwight

Have you tried any new-to-you produce?
How do you like your oatmeal?

5 responses to “Feel good Friday

  1. Ooh! I will have to try the oatmeal idea! Have a jar of nutella that is almost empty! Mmmmmm….

  2. I can’t eat beets and not think about Dwight, especially his thing about the money beets.

Leave a Reply

