OA 5k Race

5k Race, average pace 8:11

Oh hey PR! How does it feel to PR you ask? It feels so good. Sorry for the red face and maybe you should just get used to it. My face gets really red while running so if you see me on the sidewalk and I look like a tomato, don’t worry I’m fine. I stopped my watch a few seconds late at the finish line, but I think I was right around 25:40. Woop woop! I don’t really have a 5k PR time so it was a guaranteed fastest time 😉 No pressure and that’s the way I like it.

The local Orthopedic Associates race was well organized and they gave out super cute dri-fit shirts. I ran into a few people I knew and found another friend to run the Crim (10 miler in Flint) with next weekend. My mom stopped by the race to cheer me on and my in-laws were planning on coming but thought it was Sunday! Oh well, just the thought was sweet. Here is my cute mom. Too bad I can’t convince her to read my blog regularly. 🙂

 

_______________________________________________

I think I mentioned that I was working on a little project yesterday. It involved spray paint and adding a pop of color to my bedroom. Here are the before and after shots!

 

I wasn’t sure about the school bus yellow, but it is starting to grow on me. I love the way grey and yellow look together but I was envisioning a more muted shade. The options for yellow colors in spray paint were limited. I wanted to tie the color in somewhere else in the room so I did one more paint job.

 

Do you know what this container used to be? A beanie baby display case! I think they are cute painted yellow and are useful for small storage. I can see them in a bathroom for q-tips, cotton balls etc.

This was my first time spray painting and I think it is a great way to change your furniture and add a little fun. I used a spray primer, and painted two coats of the yellow to avoid the streaky zebra look.

Wishing you a healthy and fun weekend!

What is your favorite race distance?

Do you race with a time goal or just go out and see how you feel?

8 responses to “OA 5k Race

  1. quartereighthquarter

    Next Sunday is my first race! Excited about it and have decided that I am going to push myself for time…but focus more on how I feel and just the accomplishment. Hehe, we will see what happens after that. I could become one competitive lady!

  2. I usually have a time goal in mind for 5ks, but for new distances, I just want to finish. I have a time goal in mind for new distances, but it’s more of a “it would be nice to finish in this time” kind of thing.

  3. Love your blog! I will have to try oats in a jar. They look yummy! ( :

  4. Pingback: Rest and pack your lunch | Miles for a Smile

Leave a Reply

