Rest and pack your lunch

Monday, 4 mi slow & hip hop + weights

Today, rest day

Oh thank you relaxing rest day. My body thanks you for giving it a break after 3 days of working it. The demanding title of this post is a requirement for a happy and healthy day!

We all know how important rest days are in a training plan. Resting our bodies help our muscles to repair, energy stores to accumulate, and with our general mental health and well-being. I feel so ready to tackle a tough run after a day or two of rest. I really think that taking last Thursday and Friday off helped me to have a great running weekend. I forgot to tell you that I came in 2nd place in my age group for the 5k. That’s a miracle for this long-distance lover!

_______________________________________________

Back to school means packing lunches! Woohoo, isn’t it the best thing ever? 😉 Here are some ways to make it less of a pain.

1. Pack your lunch while making dinner. You are already in the kitchen and making a mess so you might as well get it all done at one time.

2. Use leftovers whenever possible. You could even cook a little extra to use specifically for leftovers.

3. If you have a short lunch like myself, prep everything before you pack it. Peel hard-boiled eggs, cut fruit, pack silverware, etc.

4. Have a lot of containers handy so you don’t have to go digging around for them while you are packing.

5. Pack healthy! I like to make sure that I have incorporated a vegetable, protein, and healthy fat. I usually have a piece of fruit at the end of the school day. A small treat usually sneaks it way into my belly during the day too.

Here is an example of a typical lunch! I had a salad with spinach, cucumbers, green pepper, tomatoes, and parmesan cheese. I put one HB full egg and one white on my salad with balsamic dressing. I also had a serving of grapes and blueberries. At the end of the school day I had a serving of almonds and I did not end up eating my greek yogurt. Too much working talking and not enough time!

What do you like to pack for lunch?

How many rest days do you take in a week?

4 responses to “Rest and pack your lunch

  1. When I have to pack a lunch, I usually grab leftovers or a turkey sandwich on whole-grain bread with romaine or spinach. With the sandwich, a piece of fruit, maybe another veggie and a sweet treat!

  2. Great idea of packing it while fixing dinner. I always dread getting up earlier or at random times trying to figure out what I am going to pack!

    However, i have not had to pack a lunch in a while…but am hoping to do so soon if I obtain a music teaching position. But I used to pack either a sandwich or a lean cuisine meal, some sort of bad snack like chips or crackers, some cookies and who knows what else. If I had to pack now, I would probably include a wrap or salad instead of a sandwich, or leftovers from a healthy meal, some side veggies like snap peas or carrots andsome fruit.

Leave a Reply

