And… I’m back at it

Yesterday- 18 mi, 3:15 total time

Today- Rest like crazy

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend! I was visiting Kevin so of course it was fabulous. I enjoyed our time together and tried to always stay in the moment. We went out to eat twice and munched on a lot of candy and treats. Our activities included visiting the Augusta Mall, and walking through downtown Augusta and the river walk. We found a little market too! I can’t begin to describe the joy we both felt over the entire weekend, and I don’t want to make my sis in law throw up in her mouth again so I will stop there. 🙂 But really it was romantic and perfect and sweet.

Let’s move on before I start to get sentimental again.

I let myself mope while traveling and again when I got home Sunday night. My poor dad had to witness my river of tears. I woke up Monday ready to fight for 18 miles! I knew this would help me transition back into normal life and it did.

I forgot how physically and mentally taxing these really long runs are. We had quite the journey and finished by jumping into Lake Huron. My father in-law has taken the #1 fan spot by bringing us waters mid-run and towels after. Later, I recovered by stretching, foam rolling, and drinking coffee in my sweats. 🙂

_________________________________________________

I am working hard this week to get back in the swing of things and keep my mind busy so I don’t get too sulky again. I usually bake on days that are a little tough and today I made some chocolate chip cookies. I also baked a chocolate zucchini bread last week that was delicious. Here are the links.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Vegan Zucchini Bread

And here are some pictures from school! I met some of my new students today and I can’t wait to start the new school year with them on Friday.

How do you stay healthy when life gets a little bumpy?

4 responses to “And… I’m back at it

  1. Having family to support you on long runs is the best!

  2. Laura- write about hitting the wall………..because i ran into it at 15. Or have you never hit the wall yet? Thanks for pushing me towards the finish, could not have done it without you!

Leave a Reply

