Weekend musings & Sunday meal

12 mi, 9:44 average pace

My weekend long run was postponed to today (Sunday) due to rain and some family commitments. But the best part is…I did it! And I reached a goal I set for myself of keeping each mile under 10 minutes. It was quiet out there without my running buddy Melissa, but I managed to push through the loneliness. I did this by forcing other runners to acknowledge me and say good morning :). I stayed pretty close to home and repeated a few legs because the weather called for rain. However, it was perfectly bright and cool.

Post-run recovery was first on my list. I want to make sure I stay healthy in the last month of training before the Toronto Marathon. My dearest runner Melissa is having some muscle pain in her calf and I am hoping she will recover quickly! So for recovery today I changed into dry clothes, stretched, foam rolled, and ate cookies.

Then I got some homework done for my grad class, went to an open house, and grocery shopped! Getting things done on Sunday. Next, I stared at the beautiful flowers that the hubs sent to me at work on Friday. I thought maybe he knew it was my first day with kiddos, but he said it was just because! This act of kindness and love means so much  because of the distance between us. Sweet.

  

_________________________________________________

A vegetarian coworker of mine brought a beautiful eggplant to me last week from her garden! I decided to make eggplant parmesan and followed a simple recipe from allrecipes.com.

     

I am also going to try some jicama on my salads, and a spaghetti squash for dinner this week. I’m definitely keeping things interesting in the food department. I want to focus on healthy food choices and may do some food journaling on the app Lose It. I had a lot of treats and crazy meals this weekend and it is time to get back on track for this girl!

What are your goals for this week?

What is your favorite vegetable?

6 responses to “Weekend musings & Sunday meal

  1. You are so good with all your cooking. Rest is making me ancy! Glad Kev sent you flowers, you deserve it with the amount of energy and amazing blogging you do!!!

  2. Hi Laura! I love all your blog entries! I am so happy you had a great time with Kevin, and I know how hard it is to see a loved one and leave. You are nearing the end though! I wish I was there to cuddle you until he returns. Think about all the things you have to lok forward to when he gets back…like a home! What a cutie face to send you flowers. Oh the little things in life! I am so happy you have this blog so I can keep up with all that you are doing! We are in need of a phone chat soon! Also- I ate at a raw vegan restaurant and they have Jicama nachos, and used the jicama as chips and I thought it was creative and delicious 🙂 Love you miss!

    • Colleen! I am so happy that you are reading 🙂 The jicama nachos sound so good! I’m looking for new ways to eat it and that is a good one. I am most definitely calling you at some point this weekend to catch up. Thanks for all the love 🙂 Talk to you soon! Miss you!

  3. Just wanted to let you know I love you and I read your blog!!!!! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

