Training: Check!

2 mi, no watch

It was strange to only run short tapering miles this week. As soon as I felt warmed up, it was time to cool down again. Oh tapering and your mind games. Below is a picture of my last run before the Chicago Marathon! Crazy town!

___________________________________________________

I decided to try and make an apple pie for my dad’s birthday. I also made my favorite healthy chocolate chip cookie recipe this week.

Making a pie is something I find very intimidating. The crust and filling seem like two separate creations that must be independently delicious and tasty together. Plus the intricacy of rolling the crust out, getting it to fit in the pan, and then folding another piece over the top. All while making sure the filling isn’t going to explode.

I bought a crust that you just add water to, and the kitchen I was using didn’t have a rolling-pin. No surprise there. So I formed the dough into a ball and then pressed it evenly into the pie pan. I used granny smith apples with a little whole wheat flour, sugar, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and a dash of salt for the filling. Then I made a graham cracker crumble crust for the top. It smells and looks delicious, and I may have taken a small sample! It was very fall and yummy 🙂

___________________________________________________

Chicago is in 2 days and I still have a few things left to do! These include packing, finalizing my ipod playlist, and crossing my fingers that my new compression socks get here in time. Maybe!? I ordered them through a deal Skinny Runner had for 40% off Pro Compression and an entry to win a new garmin!

*Check out this inspirational message!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

PLEASE send me your tips for making pies!!??

Leave a Reply

