Chicago Marathon Weekend

Rest Day

The day is here, and I can’t say finally because I’ve only been planning to run Chicago for about a week! But I am no less pumped than for any other marathon. Chicago is such an exciting city and I have heard wonderful things about the marathon. I’m planning to take in my surroundings as much as I can, and probably have some yummy eats after the race!

I have been debating my outfit the last 24 hours or so because of the chilly temps that are predicted. It will be around 40 degrees at the beginning with a high of 52 for the day. I decided on a t-shirt, shorts, and a headband for the run. At the starting line I will wear an old throw-away sweatshirt, gloves, and a hat. I’m trying to decide if I want to run with a long-sleeve on too. I will take 4 gu energy gels, and my plan is to shoot for 10:15 average pace for the first 13 miles. At that point I will either remain at the same pace, or pick it up a bit if I’m feeling great. I want to have a blast and enjoy the course!

My compression socks arrived today!! Yay! I am hoping that these socks will speed-up my recovery time between marathons.

___________________________________________________

I am mentally preparing for tomorrow by thinking about my favorite long-run mind tricks. Here are my favorites.

1. Count up the miles as you are running the first half of the course. Then, start counting down the miles. This helps me to stay focused on finishing and not the insane number of miles I’ve already completed. Tomorrow I will count up to 20 miles, and then I will count down the last 6 miles. 6 more, 5 more, 4 more, 3 more, 2 more, 1 more!

2. Break the course into parts. Only think about the chunk that you are currently completing so it doesn’t seem so overwhelming. For example, right now I am just completing Adam’s St and that is what I want to accomplish right now.

3. Remember that a marathon is a journey. You will experience highs and lows, periods where you feel on top of the world and points where you want to stop. Keep pushing through every emotion until you see the finish line. Don’t expect the race to fly by, but focus instead on how each step is getting you closer to the end and your goals! It is going to take time, so be patient with yourself and keep moving!

What strategies do you use for getting through something difficult?

Any Chicago recommendations? Restaurants or starting line tips?

One response to “Chicago Marathon Weekend

  1. I’m sure you’ll have an awesome time! I can’t wait to read about it.

Leave a Reply

