Staying healthy on the weekends

6 mi, 8:52 average pace

I decided to take a rest day on Saturday and hit the long-ish run today. It was absolutely beautiful out minus the wind that tortured me during the last mile. I definitely over-dressed for this run with a light long-sleeve, so I ended up in my sports bra. I’m usually not a fan of running in just a sports bra, however I was majorly over-heating!

I’m postponing my winter running clothes guide because I’m going to pretend  it will stay this nice out! 🙂

Other than that, I’ve been doing some homework for my grad class, grocery shopping, watching movies, and practicing the Gangnam Style dance with my mother-in law. What, you don’t do that with your in-laws?! Hehe, we had a lot of fun.

Sometimes working on homework at the computer (which is right by the kitchen) can lead to lots of snacking. Oops! So, this weekend I’ve been tracking my food intake on the app “Lose It”. It helps me to monitor what I’m eating, especially so I don’t get the gross full feeling from too many snacks or too much sugar. The app is super cool and it’s free! You can search foods or just scan the bar code on your food products. It even has a lot of restaurant items, so you can track your cals on the go! Love this.

Here are some highlights from the weekend! I may be doing some baking today too. 🙂

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad at Bar Louie

I met a cute speech path friend for dinner and a little shopping Friday night. I ordered this salad at Bar Louie, and checked the nutritional stats out later when I got home. The dressing wasn’t too bad calorie-wise, but the candied pecans and blue cheese added to the overall calorie count. But I must say, it was super tasty! I ate about half at dinner, and half with fresh lettuce the next day for lunch. My friend and I both talked about how we had packed healthier lunches that day so we could indulge a little that evening. Now that is good planning!

Egg and egg white omelette with zucchini and mozzarella cheese

I have been really into omelettes lately! It is an easy way to add more veggies to your day. I like spinach the best, but for this one I used zucchini.  The total calorie count is 205. I had a banana when I first woke up, and then a small sweet potato on the side with the omelette. Here are the ingredients.

1/3 cup steamed zucchini, 1 whole egg, 1/3 cup egg whites, 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

Next up is my protein shake after the run today. I had a banana before I went out, so I wanted a different ingredient to add that smooth texture. I went with sweet potato! I already had one baked in the fridge, so I peeled the skin off, and threw it in the blender with my other ingredients. It was really yummy, especially because the smoothie was chocolate.

Protein shake ingredients

Chocolate and sweet potato protein shake

Make sure to plan out healthy eats and prep them for the week. Try making some fitness goals to hit this week too. Lets make this the healthiest week ever! Plus we need it with Thanksgiving quickly approaching. 😉

What have you been snacking on lately?

What were you up to this weekend?

3 responses to “Staying healthy on the weekends

  1. I think we all could benefit for weekend suggestions, because at least for me, that was the hardest time to stay on track; thanks for all the great tips on tackling this ongoing issue:))

  2. Your post makes me feel like a hungry bear!

Leave a comment