Foam Rolling!

Thursday-3 mi

Friday-HIIT Turbofire DVD

Happy Friday! We are leaving tonight for Traverse City and the Big Foot Snowshoe 5k race. I ran this last year and had a great time. I’m super pumped for this weekend away.

This morning I went out for a run in the 14 degree weather and made it about .4 of a mile. The cold was painful! I decided to do a quick workout video instead. Solid choice.

I had a friend ask about foam rolling for beginners. I have not been rolling much lately, but I used it a lot after my long runs in marathon training. It’s a great addition to stretching and keeps your muscles relaxed and loose. Here is an article from Runners World with some basics.

Calves

20130115_192250

Hamstrings


20130115_192237

Upper back

(Bring your arms up at 90 degree angles, and then back down)

20130115_192316

IT Band

20130115_192212

Planks

20130115_192349

Wall Sits

20130115_192458

Have you tried foam rolling?

10 responses to “Foam Rolling!

  1. I use my foam roller all the time. I’ve never tried the plank or wall sits with it though.

  2. I saw the foam roller at tj maxx for $20. Is that a good deal?

  3. Have fun in Traverse City!

  4. I love the roller! I also find tennis balls to work great for hips. Good luck on the race!

  5. Awesome entry Laura! This is really interesting, and I definitely want to give it a try now.

Leave a Reply

