Snowshoes, Big Foot, and Yetis

Monday-4 mi (treadmill) + Swim class

Tuesday-Spin class

Brr! It has been a chilly week so far. My workouts have been indoors, and I have been enjoying it. I want to have a fun and relaxed workout week, because something big starts next week. Marathon training!! I have the schedule printed and ready to go.

I had a really great swim class this week! I have been enjoying all of the classes, but this was the first time that my freestyle started to feel comfortable. I am getting better! I practiced a little bit over the weekend in Traverse City too.

Let’s get to the Snowshoe race! We arrived in Traverse City late Friday, and woke up early to get to the race Saturday morning. We grabbed our packets just before the race and adjusted our snowshoes. There wasn’t any fresh snow, but the trails had enough to be able to complete the race.

photo (5)

photo (13)

The course was different this year and it included wider sections of trail. This helped with congestion because there were so many people. I didn’t secure my snowshoes well enough and had to stop once during the race. I stayed with Melissa and we did interval running and walking. Kevin took off right away (his first time snowshoeing) and placed 3rd in his age group! Go Kev!

photo (3)

photo

photo (6)

photo (2)

After the race, we started to cool down quickly while munching on chilli and cookies at the post race party. This was an awesome race and snowshoeing is a kick-ass workout.

photo (7)

We stayed the rest of the weekend in Traverse City and explored The Village at Grand Traverse Commons and the cute downtown! We had some great meals and cherry wine!

IMG_2284

IMG_2289

IMG_2288

Where was your last getaway?

Have you ever tried snowshoeing?

4 responses to “Snowshoes, Big Foot, and Yetis

  1. Oh wow! ENVIOUS! We snowshoe at Ft Benjamin State Park and absolutely love the hilly trails, but never did a race. Since seeing your adventures, I’ve done a search for races and came up rather dry …at least near Indianapolis. Saugatauk would would be my dream town to run on a quiet snowy day. Congrats on your run and progressing in the freestyle!

    • Thanks Susan. Yes, I bet you would enjoy a race and be pretty quick! I’m looking forward to this race again next year. I don’t know of any others, but I will let you know if I hear of anything!

  2. We are so glad you enjoyed the race!! Come back next year for even more fun.

  3. so much fun!!! cant wait for next year!

Leave a Reply

