Quick Strength Session

Thursday-20 mins weights + spin class

Friday-3 mi total, sprints

I have been seriously neglecting weight training. I don’t know how it slipped out of my life. Last winter and spring I was really into it, and would spend two 45 minute sessions a week at our old gym hitting the dumbbells. So this Thursday I went 30 minutes early to the gym to lift before spin class. This worked well and is something that I want to incorporate each week before my cross-training workout. Here is what I did this week.

6 minute series (x3)

0:00-1:00 Squats (8lb dumbbells)

1:00-1:30 Overhead press (8lb dumbbells)

1:30-2:00 Tricep kickback (8lb dumbbells)

2:00-2:30 Lunges on R side (8lb dumbbells)

2:30-3:00 Lunges on L side (8lb dumbbells)

3:00-3:30 Bicep curls (8lb dumbbells)

3:30-4:00 Hammer curls (8lb dumbbells)

4:00-5:00 Deadlifts (8lb dumbbells)

5:00-6:00 Plank

I found that after a long day of teaching, the last thing I want to do is count repetitions. I decided to just set my iphone timer and do as many as I could in the set amount of time. I was also lazy in the weight department and only used 8lb dumbbells for every exercise. I won’t be too hard on myself though, since I am just getting back into it. Winking smile

Oh yeah, have I mentioned that marathon training starts next week!?!?

Do you strength train?

What exercises are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

