Track, treadmill, or neighborhood

Monday-3 mi speed work @ 8:00 pace + swim class

thfea

Happy snow and ice day! What a wonderful treat to have an extra day to relax and catch up on grad school homework.

IMG_2294

Today I did my first track workout, and I did it on the treadmill. When I first started reading Run Less, Run Faster I was a little bit intimidated by the speed work day each week. I have a good understanding of tempo runs (easy-hard miles-easy) but I haven’t done track repeats before. I still have a hard time understanding the distance of a track in relation to my planned mileage. I thought we could break it down together.

3 x 1600m (400m rest interval) 

Track: On a standard size track it would be 4 times around to reach 1600, plus 1 more time around walking/jogging as a rest interval. Then you would repeat the whole thing for a total of 3 times. Hence the 3 x 1600.

Treadmill: 1 mile at challenging pace, .25 mile recovery interval. Repeat 2 more times.

Neighborhood: Map out a 1 mile quiet route with as straight a course as possible. Run 1 mile at a challenging pace, recover for about 3 minutes (or 1/4 mile). Repeat 3 times. A garmin or GPS watch is helpful.

5 x 1000m (400m rest interval)

Track: This would require 2 1/2 laps around the track at a quick pace, followed by 1 lap of recovery. Repeat 5 times.

Treadmill: This comes out to .62 of a mile, followed by .25 recovery interval. Repeat 5 times.

Neighborhood: You will need some sort of distance calculator for this like a Garmin watch. It is confusing unless you just round up to 3/4 mile, with 1/4 mile recovery. Anyone let me know if you have a good way of doing this!

Have you ever done speed work?

What is your favorite thing to do on a snow day?

 

Leave a Reply

