Week 13- Cleveland Marathon Training

Saturday-20 mi, 9:38 average pace

Congratulations to my friends Jordan and Jenn for running their first full marathons! They pushed through the rain and made amazing times.

 935366_10101386217915102_1108185135_n

Another 20 mile run is in the books. Melissa decided to join me at a park about an hour away. She did some rollerblading beside me and made the first 12 miles fly by before she had to leave. Thanks Melis!

photo (22)

I finished the last 8 miles on my own and it was tough. I’ve never run long distances at this park, but holy hills! I’m sure the incline wasn’t too extreme, but a large portion of the paved trail was continuous rolling hills. My town where I have been training is flat as a pancake, so this 20 mile run was my only hill training to date. Ouch! I feel surprisingly good today and not much stiffness at all.

photo (25)

I took 2 gus, and planted water and gatorade half way through the 6 mile loop. I also had a solid meal after the run. I came down with the worst headache (maybe a migraine) of my life a few hours later. I don’t like to take any pain medicine, but I did take a little and felt better soon. Ouch again! I’m still trying to figure out why I sometimes get headaches after long run days.

photo (26)

The weather was absolutely perfect for this run! It was all sun, and we started around 45 degrees, and I ended somewhere near 60. Beautiful! Plus we saw a deer, and some cute little birds.

10 miles

I am getting excited for my May and June race calendar! I am running the Color Run in 2 weeks with my friend Alli, her fiance Tony, and Kevin. Next is the Cleveland marathon in 3 weeks, and then some downtime before the Port Huron Half Marathon at the end of June.

Plus a camping trip to celebrate Mitch’s 30th birthday.

IMG_2152

Summary of the week:

Monday– 10 x 400m

Tuesday-Spin class

Wednesday-4 mi AM, 6 mi PM

Thursday-Rest

Friday-Rest

Saturday– 20 mi

Sunday– Rest

Tell me about your Saturday in the beautiful sunshine!

6 responses to “Week 13- Cleveland Marathon Training

  1. It looks like you ran at Stoney Creek. It is hilly for just 6 miles, much less more than that. Kensington Metro Park out inSouth Lyon also has a lot of big hills and an out and back is 14 miles-ish.During the summer when you have time you may have to check that one out too! 🙂

    • I NEED to practice hills this summer for sure 🙂 I will have to check out Kensington and maybe meet you for a run at Stoney! It was stoney that I ran 20 at and it was good preparation for race day. Thanks for reading Kate!

  2. I can’t stop laughing!!

  3. Congrats Jordan!!!!!!! Laura you make me laugh. Those hills will make you stronger for Cleveland! You are so close!

Leave a Reply

