May, marathon prep, & running vocabulary

Wednesday-Rest & house hunting

I am anxiously awaiting the Cleveland marathon that is 2.5 weeks away. It always seems like a training plan goes on forever, but then the day arrives. I especially feel ready to go now that both of my 20 mile runs are complete. Let’s do this! My expectations for the race are to have a pain-free run, get a new PR, and enjoy Cleveland with Kevin.

IMG_2464IMG_2465

IMG_2463

I bought a new running shirt and I’ve got new shoes to break in for race day. I usually like to wear and try everything that I will use on the actual day on my 20 mile run. I feel like a veteran at marathons by now, and I know what will work for me and what won’t. This is my 4th marathon!

I thought it would be fun to go over some running words that readers might not know.

Running Vocabulary

PRYour personal record for a certain distance

LSD-Long slow distance run used for training for longer races

Negative Splits-Running the second half of a race faster than the first half

Taper-The decrease in mileage the week or 2 prior to a race

Running the tangents-Staying on a straight path through all turns in a course to run the exact race mileage.

___________________________________________________________

I am hoping to make May an amazing month! I would like to try some new fruits and vegetables this month, make more delicious smoothies, and plan some date nights with the husband. We need a few fun nights away from house hunting and commuting. Smile

What are you looking forward to this month?

7 responses to “May, marathon prep, & running vocabulary

  1. Good luck for your marathon! I hadn’t thought about specific goals for May, so now I’m going to, thanks!!

  2. Ever joined a farm?

  3. I never understood what LSD was when runners kept saying it. Thanks for clarifying! Best of luck for your marathon 🙂

  4. Hope you enjoy our beautiful city! Good luck with your race!

Leave a Reply

